Yum! Gluten Free, Grain Free, Primal Fudgy Brownies!

1795537_10152044459302795_736305373_n

In the PC Days (pre-celiac) when I would bake brownies, I would get Noone (our first born) announcing “Holy Shit, you baked brownies!”, and in a good way. And while I had to tell him we don’t use that language, inside I was pleased because he knew brownies meant love. When he was diagnosed with celiacs at 4yrs old, I knew our days of “Holy Shit Brownies” were over. For the past 5 years I have had to endure “these brownies are gross”. And I was sad. Brownies no longer equaled love. They equaled gluten free grody-ness… Until today! I baked these fudgy brownies from Deliciously Organic and he loved them! Notwo (our second born) liked them too!

Here is what I used, I modified it a little based on the fact I had no tapioca flour…
Ingredients

5 tablespoons ghee
8 ounces bittersweet chocolate (I used Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips)
2/3 cup coconut sugar
1/2 teaspoon coarse Celtic sea salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1/3 cup almond flour
2 teaspoons coconut flour
dash of cocoa
Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 ºF and adjust rack to middle position. Butter an 8-inch glass square pan. Place butter and chocolate in the bowl of a double boiler (or put in a small pan and heat in a larger pan- I ain’t got no double boiler!!!). Melt over low heat. Remove chocolate mixture from heat and whisk in sugar, sea salt, and vanilla extract. Whisk in eggs one at a time. Whisk in almond flour and coconut flour. Let batter sit for 5 minutes (this allows the coconut flour to absorb some of the moisture). Pour batter into the buttered baking dish and smooth into an even layer (I used a coconut oiled skillet). Bake for 30-35 minutes until edges are just pulling away from the sides and middle is still just a touch moist. Cool and then cut into squares. Store in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

It says store up to 3 days. These lasted 1 night. And while I didn’t get a “Holy Shit” from Noone, (that is inappropriate language for a 9 year old) he didn’t have much to say because he was eating brownies. Yay. Brownies again equal love.

Leave a Reply

