Today I am thankful for…

Every day in November numerous friends on Facebook have posted what they are thankful for.  I admit, on November 1st I thought “what a great idea, I should do that.” I mean, I am thankful for a lot of things and I should reflect on them everyday. I am truly blessed. On others statuses, I read that friends were thankful for friends, family, their children, their significant others, the beauty of Colorado and other lovely things. I wondered what my post for November 1st would be… Then I forgot to post.

On November 2nd, I opened FB and saw that my friends were thankful for friends, family, their children, their significant others, the beauty of Colorado and other lovely things. I wondered again what I would post and also should I post two things since I was late…

This happened for a week.  I started to feel guilty that I had not posted anything. Then I finally posted something.

November 7th… Today I am thankful that I am regular.

And I am. That is, I am BOTH regular and thankful. Really, that is an important thing. Just ask those people that are not regular…

After that post I decided the post a day was not for me. I just didn’t think my FB friends really needed to see the things I was secretly really thankful for. Because I am thankful for my children. my significant other, my friends and family and the beauty of Colorado. But I think everyone knows that. I really wanted this to be an exercise in what I was really thankful for, to really immerse myself in gratitude for my life as it is today…  And you know what I am secretly thankful for?

I am thankful that I didn’t marry the first guy I thought for sure I was going to marry.  And the guy after that, and after that and so on.  I am thankful that the last time I peed on a stick it was negative. I am thankful that when I was speeding the other week and I passed by a cop that he didn’t pull me over. I am thankful that my child can entertain himself for an hour with his toys because I am writing this while I should be playing with him. I am thankful that there are people in this world that are flawed and imperfect, just like me.  I am thankful that I went to Club Med when I was 24 and drank a lot and fell off a stage dancing and had the kind of vacation that made me forget the guy I was trying to forget. I am thankful that even though I spend my life in yoga pants and glasses and never do my hair or wear makeup that I clean up well and can still look pretty hot if I try really hard. I am thankful for the times I think I am AWESOME, because I am AWESOME, sometimes I just forget it. I am thankful that I have a bright orange chair in my living room. I am thankful for my KitchenAid Mixer. I am thankful for deodorant. I am thankful that people (including me) can forgive and hopefully can forget. I am thankful that my true friends don’t hug me hello, because I am really not that kind of girl. I am also glad my true friends know when I need a hug.  I am thankful that the song “Don’t you wish your girlfriend was hot like me” exists as well as the Milkshake song. And so on…

And this is why I can’t do the Thankful FB posts. People would think I was crazy, insane and totally not normal. Perhaps they would be right and I am totally okay with that.

I mean, regular I can do… Normal, nope, never.

Leave a Reply

